** UPDATE 1/5 — If you’re looking for the chocolat peanut butter cookies, here’s the recipe.** 

Back to Food TV.  I love TLC’s Take Home Chef.  It’s a great concept, but I haven’t seen him do an episode in DC yet.  I’ve seen a lot of episodes in California and a few in Chicago, Seattle, etc.  I’m holding out hope that either my friends or I will run into him when he does a show in DC.  Who wouldn’t love this show?     

For those who haven’t seen it, the premise is brilliant.  It’s about Curtis Stone, a professional trained (hot) chef, originally from Australia, who goes into random grocery stores and “picks up” a woman who is cooking for her family, friends, etc.  He buys all your groceries, makes dinner, and does your dishes.  He seems like such a cool guy.  Oh, and he buys you a gift before he goes home to make dinner!  Sometimes he buys you an ice cream maker, a wok, etc.  

How cool of a show is this?  I love it and can’t wait for the new season!    While Take Home Chef is running repeats, I had to find some new TV food shows.  So I found a couple of them on Discovery Health. 

I’ll talk about the show that has the cute host for now.  And, he’s local!  It’s Nathan Lyon and his show is called A Lyon in the Kitchen.  I just read his bio, which says he grew up in Arlington, VA and went to James Madison University. He was a contestant on The Next Food Network Star, a show I have never watched.  I prefer Top Chef.  But that’s a blog for another day.  Regardless, I caught this show and thought it was really good for a 4 reasons.  

  1. If you’re like me, my eyes glaze over when I see a long ingredients list and long paragraphs of instructions.  His recipes seem simple. 
  2. He cooks healthy and organic.  
  3. He emphasizes the importance of buying local. 
  4. He’s cute. 

So, let me know if you agree.  Again, I haven’t tried out his recipes, but I’m looking forward to testing them later this fall!   If you’ve tried them, let me know how it went (and send a photo) at whereindc [at] gmail dot com.  I promise to try them out later!

