OK, I know this is supposed to be a food blog, but I felt the need to comment on a Mayor Fenty’s decision to switch to the time-and-distance meters for cabs.   

This is instead of the antiquated zone system (that I am convinced no one, including cabbies, understood).  I have been in several cabs when I’ve been asked by the cabbie, “So, umm, how much should I charge you?”   

I always felt badly for tourists when they came because if I, as a local, can’t figure it out – how the heck can they?  Whenever anyone from out-of-town visited, I always told them approximately how much it’d cost to get from the airport to my house because I didn’t want them to get overcharged.   

The reason I think it does relate to food is that it will now be much cheaper to take cabs to and from restaurants.  If you go with groups of friends, you will no longer be charged for each stop as a separate fare. And when they try to stuff you into cabs together at Union Station, at least now you’ll get a discount on your fare! 

My only question is when will this take effect?  Next year?  10 years from now?  Mayor Fenty, please say it will be soon!  

Until then, make sure you’re not getting overcharged for your cabs.  Visit DC’s Web site for their taxi fare estimate calculator.  I can’t tell you how much this has saved me!

