Last week, I went to RedRocks Pizzeria with some friends in Columbia Heights.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, since I’ve read and heard a bunch of mixed reviews.  I thought their menu looked decent and reasonable. I already knew all about the brick-oven pizza.  I also read Tom Sietsema’s review which gives more information on the owner. 

My verdict? It was decent.Was it like the pizza I had when I was in Italy?  Absolutely not. 

  • Food: Based on the reviews I had seen, the sausage and pepper pizza was the best of them all.  I thought it had a decent flavor which means there wasn’t too much sauce or cheese that masked the flavor of the sausage and peppers.  I also ordered a small mixed green salad, which was fine.  There was nothing remarkable or memorable about it.   We also ordered the “Burrata Buffalo” with olive oil and sea salt.  Now here was an appetizer that didn’t last long on our table.  The buffalo mozzarella, for those who may have a preference, had been soaked in water.  It was still very tasty!  
  • Service: I know others have criticized their service, but our waitress was very nice. She refilled our water glasses on a frequent rate and our food came out at the appropriate time.  

  • Atmosphere: We sat inside in the back.  It was definitely cozy though so make sure you like your dining companions!

  • Attire: Casual
  • Price: $$
  • Overall: It was fine.  I won’t ever suggest going, but I’d go again if someone wanted to go.  I’ll definitely never crave their pizza though.

RedRocks Pizzeria  RedRocks Pizzeria

They have a separate take-out menu, but do not deliver.  Their wine list is not impressive, it’s definitely more of a beer place.  You can tell when you see their drink menu.  On tap, they have Chimay and Allagash White. Finally, they have alfresco seating.

Happy Hour: It’s daily from 5pm-7pm and 10pm-12am.  It’s 1/2 priced cheese pizza, $4 rails, and $3 glasses of house wine

Details:

  • Reservations are accepted and recommended during “peak” hours. 
  • Hours: Mon-Thu 5 pm-midnight, Fri 5 pm-1 pm, Sat 11 am-1 am, Sun 11 am-midnight
  • Address: 1036 Park Rd. NW, Washington, DC 20010
  • Ph: 202-506-140
