Earlier this month, we were having a bit of a heat wave.  In fact, there were a few days when it was over 90 degrees.  So thankfully, it’s cooled down and is finally fall in DC.  So in the spirit of it being fall, I thought I’d share a fantastic soup recipe.

Actually, it’s not mine.  It’s Dave Lieberman’s recipe, another Food Network chef.  I saw his black bean soup recipe last year on his Good Deal with David Lieberman show and have made it several times.  I’ve gotten some good reviews and think it’s super easy to make.

I agree with his commentary that hickory smoked bacon gives it better flavor than standard (or turkey) bacon.  But the standard (or turkey) bacon works too.

The great thing about this recipe is that it has ingredients that are easily found in your local grocery store.  It’s healthy (minus the bacon).  I also don’t use cheese or sour cream (unless I have guests).

Finally, I make my own chicken broth.

Black Bean Soup

