As I mentioned in the black bean soup recipe, I make my own chicken broth.  I have for the last year or so because I think store bought chicken broth has too much salt and too little flavor.  The other reason, making chicken broth is quite possibly one of the easiest things in the world.  Plus, you can freeze it and use it as needed. 

My chicken broth recipe isn’t structured, but here it is:

  • 8 qt stock pot
  • 1 organic whole chicken, skin on (5-6 lbs)
  • 1 bag of carrots
  • 1 bag of celery
  • 1 medium white or yellow onion
  • 2-3 medium bay leaves
  • 1/4 cup Mrs. Dash No Salt Seasoning (cheating, but I like the flavor this offers)
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)

Chicken Stock  Homemade Chicken Broth

Cut up the carrots, celery, and onion (rough chop is fine).  Throw the chicken in the stock pot.  Fill the pot 2/3 full with water.  Put it on the stove over medium heat with the cover on.  Stir every 30 minutes-1 hour.  Keep tasting to make sure you put enough seasonings in the pot.  I usually leave it on for 2-3 hours.

Once it’s done, take the chicken out and put it in a bowl to cool.  Strain the vegetables out (if you’re making chicken dumpling soup, vegetable, or something where you can use them, keep them). 

When the chicken cools, remove it from the bone and throw away the skin.  Sometimes, I’ll eat the chicken and don’t put it in the soup.  It works great either way.

This makes a lot of broth so be prepared with plastic containers!  I use this in my soups, making edamame (instead of water b/c it gives great flavor), etc. 

I also will heat the broth with rice noodles, veggies, and chicken with Sriracha sauce for a great, quick, and healthy dinner.

