My favorite Mexican (not Tex-Mex) food is at Mixtec in Adams Morgan.  I’ve been numerous times and have never been disappointed. 

While I know they were closed recently, they’ve re-opened with a little grocery store next door.

  • Food: Seriously, favorite Mexican food.  I don’t care what you get, but you MUST order the fried plantains.  They are the best here.  The tacos are real tacos on corn tortilla, meat, cilantro, and limes.  I have never gotten bad food here (nor have my many, many dining companions).   It’s always a filling, but inexpensive meal.  They’re known for their sandwiches, but I’ve never gotten one.  The only “bad” thing here is their sangria. 
  • Service: Good, although sometimes it’s hit and miss.  It doesn’t even matter if it’s slow or busy. 
  • Atmosphere: It’s incredibly casual and seats only about 40 people.  It’s definitely a little crunched and during busy periods, it’s loud.  But I think it adds to the atmosphere. 
  • Attire: Casual
  • Price: $
  • Overall: Amazing.  Favorite Mexican in DC.  Get the plantains and love them.  You will crave this food.  Oh so good!  Here’s their menu — click on the photo to see a bigger picture.  I’ve only posted a few of the photos here, but on my flickr page you’ll see the entire menu (including brunch). 

Mixtec Brunch Menu 2 & 3  Mixtec Soup, Chips & Salsa, and Nacho Menu  Mixtec Tacos and Mexican Tortas  Mixtec Seafood and Dessert Menu 

Details:

  • Reservations are accepted, but usually not needed.
  • Hours: Sun-Thurs 11 am- 10 pm Fri-Sat 11 am- midnight
  • Address: 1792 Columbia Rd. NW; Washington, DC 20009
  • Ph: 202-332-1011
