A few weeks ago, I went to Las Canteras with a friend.  Not knowing what to expect, we went with low expectations.  I came away knowing that I really enjoyed my meal while my friend wasn’t too pleased with her order.

  • Food: I ordered Camarones a la Limena (sauteed shrimp in garlic, butter, and white wine with cilantro).  I thought it was good, but I realized I could have made it myself at home.  My friend ordered the mixed greens salad which was fine.  For dinner, I think my friend ordered Aji De Gallina, shredded chicken in a sauce of bread, peanuts, and yellow pepper.  But she hated it compared to my dish.  I have to admit, it was fantastic.  I ordered the Pescado Al Horno, which is fresh fish baked or broiled, served with mashed potatoes and quinoas cakes.  Those cakes were ridiculous. 
  • Service: Very courteous.
  • Atmosphere: It’s on the 2nd floor with beautiful red walls.  We were fortunate and were able to sit by the front window.  It’s definitely casual, but it’d be cute to go with friends or a date. 
  • Attire: Business casual/casual
  • Price: $$
  • Overall: The quinoas cakes are really good.  I’m looking forward to going back and getting those cakes!  I definitely wouldn’t order what my friend got, but I think it’d be good to go back and try some of their other offerings.

Happy Hour: Tuesdays 1/2 priced bottles of wine.  They offer only about 15 different varieties so the selection is limited.

Las Canteras

The building is actually a light purple, but you can’t tell from my photo. 

Details:

  • Reservations are accepted.
  • Hours: Closed Mondays; Lunch 11 AM – 3 PM; 5 PM – 11 PM; Sat & Sun 11 AM – 4 PM
  • Happy Hour: 6-8, Tuesday through Saturday. Specials Daily.
  • Address: 2307 18th St. NW; Washington, DC 20009
  • Ph: 202-265-1780
