I made this Focaccia bread three times. 

The first time, I had no idea how long it would take to actually make it.  In reality, it’s about a 3 1/2 hour commitment so it’s not a quick bread, no mess bread.  It also didn’t turn out very well.  Instead, the bread was hard and heavy as a rock.  So I wanted to try making it again. 

The second time, it turned out better because I made some modifications. 

  • When you knead the dough for 10 minutes, make sure to use bread flour (not regular flour).
    • You’ll probably add a cup or more of dough while you’re kneading.
  • I added oregano, thyme, Parmesan, and garlic powder in the mix. 
  • On top, I poured extra virgin olive oil and then more seasonings (minus garlic powder) on top with Kosher salt.
  • Bake at 375F for 20-30 minutes. 

Raw  Focaccia Dough  Focaccia Bread

The third time I made it I used put in 3 1/2 cups of bread flour and 2 1/4 tsp yeast (1 packet) in the bread machine on the “dough cycle.”  When it was done, I opened the lit and it was still gooey so I put in another 1 1/2-2 cups of bread flour.  I let it mix together for 10-15 minutes, but watched it carefully because I did have to add a little water. 

Then I took it out, and followed directions normally, putting it in the greased bowl to rise.  After I “poked” the bread, I let it rise again for about an 1 hour.  I added parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and Kosher salt to the top.  Then I baked at 425 for 15-20 minutes. 

I noticed it poofed more and it was much thicker.  It was crunchy and soft.  Perfect.  Third time really was a charm.  Now I love this focaccia bread and would definitely recommend trying it! Below is the photo of my third try at Focaccia bread (and I cut into it as soon as it was out of the oven). 

Focaccia Bread 3rd try

