Clearly, I’m a fan of all things food.  But I’m not sure if I could write an entire song about it like this food critic from The News Tribune (Takoma, WA) did about tamales. 

You can listen to his tribute here and here are the lyrics:

MY LADY OF TAMALES (© 2007 Ed Murrieta
She cooks every morning, each one made by hand. (Tamales, tamales, made in her new land. (Days on the corner, nights door to door. (Selling tamales and giving her soul. (2 for 2 dollars, best meal in town(. Her red sauce is spicy, her mole’s deep brown(. Each holy bundle. (Each little loving bite. (TAMALES! TAMALES!( She’s my saint tonight.

From Hermosillo, she took Joaquin’s hand. (An American dream, she cooks for him. (Crossing the desert, she fed all the men(. Tamales from home, the best they ever had. (Now she nurses her babies alone in the van(. She buried Joaquin’s body in the hot coyote sand(. Each holy bundle. (Each little loving bite. (TAMALES! TAMALES!( She’s my saint tonight.

She cooks like my Mama and looks like her too(. Taste my Mama’s kitchen, I’m her Mijo again. (Cornmeal and lard, spice of her kiss. (Hugged with a husk, an embrace that I miss. (Each holy bundle(. Each little loving bite(. TAMALES! TAMALES!( She’s my saint tonight.

Mission, Olvera, the bars of Barrio Street. (Tamales, tamales — savory and sweet. (Come closing time, she’s fed every drunk (viejo, pachucho, priest, cop and punk. (Golden corn and banana leaves steamed. (Green olives, chicken, black olives, beef. (Each holy bundle(. Each little loving bite(. TAMALES! TAMALES!( She’s my saint tonight.

