When you’re looking for quick and decent Thai food in the Golden Triangle area, you go to Nooshi (formerly known as Oodles Noodles).

  • Food:Surprise!  I usually order Pad Thai with tofu or chicken, but one day I thought I should try something different.  So I got the Mee Goreng which is described as spicy marriage of Malaysian & Indian-style stir fry egg noodles with chicken.  I thought the Mee Goreng was OK, but it definitely wasn’t spicy.  One of my lunch partners in crime always gets the Tom Yum Noodle Soup with spicy chicken in lemongrass broth served with rice vermicelli.  When I actually sit at the restaurant, I’ll usually order either the fried tofu or fried calamari — both tasty.

Nooshi Mee Goreng

  • Service: I was recently talking about this with some colleagues, but they claim that when they eat in here, they feel rushed throughout their meal.  I’ve got to admit that when I eat in, I don’t. 
  • Atmosphere: With a dark interior, the restaurant is comfortable.  There’s a small sushi bar (or was it an actual bar?  Can’t remember) on the right hand-side. 
  • Attire: Casual
  • Price: $
  • Overall: This is a good place to go with some friends for a casual bite to eat.  They also deliver (orders must be over $25)  and have a separate “restaurant” (and menu) for carry out.  It’s next door to their sit-down restaurant and is incredibly tiny.   If you’re in a hurry, call in your food and then walk past the line to pick up your food and pay. 

Happy Hour: Monday-Saturday 5-7 PM 1/2 off drinks.

Details:

  • Reservations accepted.
  • Hours: Mon-Sat 11:30am- 11pm Sun 5pm-10pm; Delivery Hours: Mon – Fri 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, 5:00 pm – 10:30 pm; Sat 5:00 pm – 10:30 pm; Sun 5:00 pm – 10:00 pm
  • Address: 1120 19th Street NW; Washington, DC 20036
  • Ph: 202-293-3138
