I’ve been to Sushi Taro a handful of times and have always had great food.  I’ve also always had a wait — no matter the date or time I go. 

  • Food:The most recent time, I ordered eel.  My friend and I split an order of adegashi tofu, Japanese fried sweet potato, shiso leaf, asparagus, Shiitake mushroom, and eggplant. The eel was perfect, but the standout from our dinner was the shiso leaf and the Japanese fried sweet potato.  Yum on both accounts.   On a previous visit, I had ordered their Wakasagi Nanban because I heard it was the best.  They very well may have, but I didn’t love the deep fried smelt.  Sorry, I couldn’t get over it.  But I was proud that I tried it!
  • Service:While their waitstaff can sometimes leave something to be desired as far as their waitressing skills, it’s fine.
  • Atmosphere:During your waiting time, you can read the tons of accolades this place has gotten.  I’ve seen signed photos from Former Secretary of State Madeline Albright to an endorsement by the DC-based Japanese news bureaus that Sushi Taro is the best in the city.
  • Attire: Casual
  • Price: $$
  • Overall: I think it’s good sushi for a good price.  While the wait can be a bit annoying, if you have the time, you should try the place. 

Details:

  • Reservations are accepted (and recommended), except not after 12:30 PM for lunch and after 7 PM for dinner.   
  • Hours: Lunch Mon-Fri 11:30 am-2 pm Dinner Mon-Thu 5:30-10 pm Fri-Sat 5:30-10:30 pm Closed Sundays
  • Address: 1503 17th St. NW, Washington, DC 20036
  • Ph: 202-462-8999
