The purpose of Restaurant Week, in my opinion, is to go to places that are a bit out of your price range so you can “test” them at an inexpensive price and see whether you’d want to go back as a “normal” customer. 

As soon as Restaurant Week was announced, Kinkead’s was one of the first places I made a reservation. 

In case you’re wondering, the real reason why Restaurant Week started was because January and August were the slowest times for restaurants and this was a PR tactic to get more people to go during the slow period.   I think it’s worked!

  • Food:I ordered the Thai-styled mussels which were in a spicy and creamy sauce with cilantro on top.  While there were only 6 to the bowl, they were a great combination of spicy and creamy.  I wanted to take the entire bread basket and dip into the sauce.  My friend ordered the seafood chowder which was really good as well.  There were lots of chunks of seafood, potato, etc.  Then we both paid the extra $10 for the lobster roll with fries.  The roll was toasted (brioche bread perhaps?) but a little greasy.  There was an enormous scoop of lobster (with a bit of mayo) and a lot of chives on top.  So tasty.  Then there was a generous portion of fries, which were 75% crispy — had they stayed in the frier another 5 minutes, they would have been perfect.  But they were well-seasoned and pretty good.  Then we ordered the chocolate lava cake with caramel ice cream.  Damn me for eating the bread in the beginning!  I could only eat half the cake and ice cream, but it was really amazing.   
  • Service:I thought our server was very polite, but I was wondering where the ice team re-filler guy was…
  • Atmosphere: When you walk into the restaurant, you’re immediately greeted by the maitre d’ (or three).  On the right is their enormous bar with TVs and up the stairs is the dining area. 
  • Attire: Business casual
  • Price: $$$
  • Overall: I left feeling incredibly full and happy.  In fact, I stayed full for the rest of the day and didn’t eat dinner. I thought the food was really good and I’m excited to go back.  Their raw bar seems like it’d be a fun thing to do sometime with a few friends, but definitely be prepared to spend some money when you go!

Details:

  • Reservations required. 
  • Hours: Sun-Fri lunch 11:30 AM-2:30 PM; Sun-Thur dinner 5:30 PM-10 PM; Fri & Sat dinner 5:30-10:30; Daily Raw Bar 5:30-11 PM; Between Lunch/Brunch and dinner, they offer a light menu.
  • Address: 2000 Pennsylvania Ave NW; Washington, DC 20006
  • Ph: 202-296-7700
