I recently decided I went out too much for lunch, but I also knew I couldn’t go back to the cold turkey and cheese sandwiches either.

So that’s when I came up with this magnificant (if I may say so myself) recipe.  Here’s what so great about it — you can put anything in the sandwich roll. 

First, I made the best baguettes in the morning (since they need a lot of rise time).  Since I buy my yeast by the jar, the 1 packet of yeast is 2 1/4 tsp of yeast. 

After the first rise time (when it’s in a ball in the bowl), I divided the dough into two and rolled them to the size of my baking sheet.  I made sure it was square shaped.  Then I let them rise again for the 2 hours.   You could probably skip this step if you wanted, but I had the extra time and figured, “why not?”

Once they were done, then I put a layer of turkey pepperoni, on top of that mozzarella cheese, another layer of turkey pepperoni, and a ton of fresh spinach (frozen will not work). 

I rolled the dough so it’d be a long roll (and not fat) as you can see in the 2nd photo.  Be careful so you just wrap the filling inside.  You don’t want to roll it too tight with the dough as part of the filling (like you would when you’re making cinnamon rolls) because the dough will get gooey and won’t bake.

I then glazed lightly with milk on top of the dough and also made sure to seal the ends (so the cheese wouldn’t melt out). 

I forgot to cut my slashes, but that’s the last thing you should do before baking in the oven for about 20-30 minutes at 375 degrees.  I’m planning on taking these to work for lunch!

I am looking forward to my next sandwich roll! I think it’s going to be cooked chicken, mozzarella, pine nuts, artichokes, and spinach. 

This would work great for kid’s school lunches too! 

Pizza Roll  Pizza Roll  Pizza Roll Inside

