I went to Plum Blossom recently with a friend for a celebratory dinner because she got a new job, yay!  Though the job was in a new town, boo! 😉  

  • Food:After hearing so much about their miso honey lamb chops, I was looking forward to the opportunity to try them.  Unfortunately, we were told that they had gone through a menu revision and no longer offered the chops because they had been told it was too sweet.  So I decided to order the mussels and an order of Yellowtail nigiri, but then was told they ran out of the mussels.  I then ordered the lamb chops that were cooked with Szechuan peppers.  The lamb was the most tender I’ve ever had, but there was an enormous amount of fat that was still on the chops.  Personally, I prefer it when chefs trim that off, but to each his own — I just cut around it.  I can’t remember the sides, but I’m sure they were fine.  My friend ordered the steak which was good.
  • Service:Our server was nice, but despite the tiny restaurant, I do remember having to crane my neck looking for him on numerous occasions.
  • Atmosphere: To say it’s a small restaurant is an understatement.  It has about 6 very small tables that are about the 3 ft off the ground.  Then there are backless box chairs that you sit on.  If prefer seats with backs or a normal sized chair, you should definitely get your food to go.  When the door opens, the entire restaurant feels the draft too so if it’s a chilly day, keep your jacket close by!  There is a small bar in the back and in the front, there’s a little station for the sushi chef.
  • Attire: Casual
  • Price: $$
  • Overall:While I thought he’d cancel my order for Yellowtail nigiri when I ordered the lamb chops, I’m glad I was able to try it because it was really good.  I’d be up to try it again for more sushi and their pomegranate chicken (sounds intriguing). 

Details:

  • Reservations accepted.
  • Hours: Sun-Thurs 12 PM-10 PM; Fri & Sat 12 PM-11 PM
  • Address: 1915 18th Street NW; Washington, DC 20009
  • Ph: 202-232-8881
