Well, I think I may have found my “healthier” biscuit recipe.  Healthier is of course put into quotes because there is 5 TBSP of butter.  But, they came out flaky and pretty darn good. 

You may remember my other biscuit attempt, which didn’t work out as well.  I know you’re supposed to use buttermilk and lard, but I just can’t do it.  It’s something about them that I can’t buy in the store.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 5 TBSP butter
  • 1 cup 2% milk

Mix the dry ingredients together.  Then cut-up the butter into small chunks and mix into the bowl of dry ingredients until the mix is lumpy.  Then mix the milk in with your hands, gently mixing until all the ingredients are together — but be careful of not overmixing!

Once they’re together, then sprinkle flour on a board and roll out the dough.  Depending on how thick you want the biscuits, you’ll get 12-15 biscuits from 1/2 inch tall dough or 6-7 from 1″ tall dough.

Then bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes.

As you can see in the photo, I made the 1/2 inch biscuits.  Yum!

Biscuits 2

