I think it’s an upper Midwest thing, because I didn’t know what “puppy chow” was until we moved.  And it was a memorable meeting.  Yum.  I remember growing up when it wasn’t a party unless someone brought puppy chow.  BTW, I’ve heard it’s also called “chicken feed.” 

It’s quite possibly the easiest snack/dessert in the world and it’s pretty darn tasty.

My recipe:

  • 1 cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 4 chocolate bars (you want to have a cup of chocolate so if it’s a standard Hershey bar at about 1 oz, you’ll need 4 of them.  I used Trader Joe’s big dark chocolate bar and used four or five rows of chocolate)
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 2 cups of powdered sugar
  • 6 cups of rice cereal

Melt the peanut butter, chocolate, and butter over low heat until completely melted.  Put the rice cereal into a big bowl (I use the turkey roasting pan).  Pour the melted mixture over the rice cereal and stir until everything is coated.  Then let it cool (about 5 minutes). 

Put 3/4 cup of powdered sugar into a plastic seal-able bag.  Then pour the rice cereal into the bag.  Then pour the remaining powdered sugar on the top.  Shake the bag really well until the cereal is white.

Puppy Chow Chocolate Mixture  Puppy Chow

Enjoy — it’s a great sweet mix that will have everyone wanting, well, a doggy bag. 

