After hearing so much about Mai Thai from a friend (who goes to their Alexandria location), it was about time I tried it out for myself. 

  • Food:Since I went with a huge group, we ordered a lot of food.  I tried a little bit of everything — but of course, ordered my fried tofu and Pad Thai.  Both were good, but the standouts on the menu were their crab rolls (Crispy-fried king crab claw rolls stuffed with shrimp, chicken, shitake mushroom, bean thread and cilantro, served with a sweet and sour sauce) and fried calamari (Fresh squid, lightly battered, and deep-fried served with a sweet and sour sauce). 
  • Service: I went with a huge group so our server was a bit scattered and frazzled.  But I’m sure if it was just an “average” table of 2-4, it’d be great.
  • Atmosphere: The decorations on the wall and the feel of the restaurant is authentic with a twist meaning it’s slightly funky. 
  • Attire: Casual
  • Price: $$
  • Overall: This is going on my list of places to grab appetizers with a few friends.  Between their yummy appetizers and drink specials, it’d be a fun (and tasty) place to go! 

Happy Hour: Daily 3:30 PM-7 PM for top shelf cocktails $4.50; beer ($3.50); and various appetizers for $3-5.   

Details:

  • Reservations accepted.
  • Hours: Mon-Thu 11:15 am-10:30 pm, Fri-Sat 11:15 am-11 pm, Sun 11:30 am-10:30 pm
  • Address: 1200 19th St. NW, Washington, DC 20036
  • Ph: 202-452-6870
