I had bought some eggroll wrappers and tofu and realized both were expiring in a few days.  So I realized I needed to do something with both of them soon.

I also realized I had a bunch of random ingredients that I wanted to use up — eggrolls are truly a perfect opportunity to do just that!

  • 1 tsp of garlic
  • 2 tsp of minced onions (dried)
  • 2 tsp of cayenne pepper
  • 1 TBSP corn starch (for the tofu)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 red cabbage chopped finely
  • 1 can of bamboo shoots
  • 1 can of water chestnuts
  • 1 package of extra firm tofu
  • 1 package of eggroll wrappers

First, drain and remove as much moisture from the tofu.  Then cube the tofu and mix in a bowl with garlic, minced onions, cayenne pepper, corn starch.  Set aside.

Then heat up your wok with 1 tsp of vegetable oil.  Once it’s hot, put the cabbage in and cook until begins to soften.  I like it to still be crunchy so I find it only takes a couple of minutes.  Remove the cabbage to a bowl to  cool. 

Now take your eggroll wrappers and remove one.  Take your bowl of tofu and cooled cabbage and mix.  Make sure to toss all the ingredients well.  Now take some of the mixture and place on the eggroll wrapper and wrap (if you forgot how, visit here for instructions). 

Eggrolls with cabbage

 

Heat vegetable oil in the wok (fill so when you put the rolls in the wok, the oil covers 1/2 of the eggrolls).  Fry on both sides and once it’s done, drain on a paper towel. 

