My rotisserie has been feeling neglected, I could tell.  I found this recipe for Southwestern Pork Tenderloin from the National Pork Board

I thought it was good, but I do wish I wouldn’t have made the two tenderloins in the package with the spices.  I can’t put my finger on why I didn’t love it — the best I can come up with is that it was a bit overwhelming in spice for me. 

Spiced Pork

Anyway, here’s the recipe.  If you make it, let me know what you think!

  • 5 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 2 whole pork tenderloins, about 1 1/2 pounds

In small bowl, mix all ingredients except pork. Rub mixture over tenderloins. Cover, refrigerate 2 to 24 hours. Follow grill instructions to place roasts securely on spit. Turn on rotisserie, grill roast over indirect heat about 30 minutes or until internal temperature reads 155 to 160 degrees. Use oven mitts to remove from spit. Slice. Makes 6 servings.

Per serving: 170 calories, 7 g fat, 75 mg cholesterol, 24 g protein, 3 g carbohydrates, 0 fiber, 80 mg sodium, 29 percent calories from fat.

