I finally figured a good fried tofu recipe.  No, it’s not quite like what you get in a restaurant. Yes, I know you’re supposed to be able to make this with just corn starch.

But to me, it never quite worked and I couldn’t figure out why.  So I started to think about why it wasn’t working and what I wanted to have as my end product.

That’s when it dawned on me to use panko crumbs with the corn starch.

I’m not kidding when I tell you that I love this insanely easy and quick recipe — and that I’ll now make it all the time!     

Ingredients:

  • 2 TBSP of corn starch
  • 1/4 cup of panko crumbs
  • 1/4 cup of veggie oil
  • 1 container of extra firm tofu, drained and with as much moisture as possible squeezed out

Directions:

  • Cut the tofu into 8 long logs (I like this because you can easily grab it when you’re putting it into the fryer and take them out)
  • Put the corn starch on a plate
  • Put the panko crumbs on a plate
  • Heat the veggie oil until hot in a sauce pan
  • Dip the tofu into the corn starch being careful to not put too much corn starch on the tofu log
  • Then dip the tofu into the panko crumbs
  • Once the oil is hot, carefully put the tofu log into the hot grease and let fry on each side until brown
  • Then remove and let drain on a paper towel

I didn’t put any salt or pepper on the tofu, but you certainly could.  This was so yummy and crispy.  It was exactly what I wanted. 

Panko Fried Tofu Cooking  Panko Fried Tofu Cooked

