I  vaguely remember when Suki Asia opened — I think two or three years ago.  I have been once before and remember ordering sushi and it was pretty good.  But it had been a couple of years since I had been so I thought I’d try it again for the blog.  Their menu is pretty brief and actually fits on one page here

11/2008 – Here’s their updated menu.  Page one here and page two here.

  • Food: I was hungry and so I decided to order their original bibimbap and a bagel roll.  First, the bagel roll.  They get points for not dying their ginger to that horrible pink color and instead, leaving it to its original state.  I also give them major points for not giving me so much wasabi that I feel like I’m wasting it.  Their bagel roll was pretty good and I’d definitely order it again.  Next to the bibimbap.  I thought it was OK, but the bulgogi cart definitely makes a better version.  Plus, there was no egg.  And there wasn’t that much in there, but what was there was decent.

Suki Asia Bibim Bap  Suki Asia Bagel Roll

UPDATE: My lunch buddy kept raving about their udon mushroom with tofu so I had to try it.  It was really good (no MSG so no weird after-taste).  There weren’t a lot of veggies though, but the noodles and broth were really good.  A super filling lunch!

Suki Asia Udon Mushroom with Tofu  Suki Asia Udon Mushroom with Tofu

  • Service: They’re very nice and while it can seem busy with a lot of people, they are pretty efficient. 
  • Atmosphere: While it’s not a very big location, it has 5-7 tables.  The interior lacks much decoration, but considering most people are grabbing and going back to their office for lunch, it doesn’t really matter.
  • Attire: Casual
  • Price: $
  • Overall:I think I’ll skip their bibimbap and go to the Bulgogi cart instead since it tastes so much better and is cheaper.  But I do like their sushi so I would definitely go back for that. 

Details:

  • Hours: Monday-Friday 10:30-5:30
  • Address: 1730 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20036
  • Ph: 202.463.3400
