I am using several cookbooks so I can learn how to make authentic Asian dishes — and then eventually turn the recipes into my own.

One of my cookbooks had this recipe for stir-fry lamb with mint and chili.   While I wasn’t able to find a recipe that’s identical to the one in my cookbook, I did find this one which was somewhat like it

Perhaps a few modifications I’d make would be to increase the oyster sauce amount that’s in the recipe to 1/2 cup and 2 1/2 tsp of fish sauce.  You can also omit the nuroc cham.   

I really loved this dish and it’s incredibe simplicity.  I had rice noodles underneath and it was delicious. 

Stir-fry Lamb with Mint and Chili  Stir-fry Lamb with Mint and Chili Stir-fry Lamb with Mint and Chili

But whatever you do, for God’s sake, don’t overcook the rice noodles!  Otherwise, they get mushy and really gross. 

I will absolutely be making this again!

UPDATE: I was eating the leftovers and realized it was almost inedible due to the incredibly saltiness…it was the oyster sauce.  So this doesn’t save well if you use 1/2 cup! 

UPDATE II: I made it again but this time with NY strip steak and also modified it with only 2 TBSP of oyster sauce.  Yum.  Not as saucy, but it wasn’t salty when I ate the leftovers!  And yes, those are spaghetti noodles (I ran out of rice noodles). 

Stir Fry Beef with Chilis and Mint  Stir Fry Beef with Chilis and Mint  Stir Fry Beef with Chilis and Mint  Stir Fry Beef with Chilis and Mint

