I went to Las Vegas.  Did you miss me?   Yes, we all know how I feel about the city.  But I have to admit, I had a nice and enjoyable time.  First of all, it’s hot as heck there, but it is dry heat.  Don’t get me wrong, your hair is still going to do weird things, but at least it’s not humid too. 

I stayed at the Palazzo.  Wow.  I’ve stayed at a lot of hotel rooms on business trips, but this one definitely won the prize.  It wasn’t even a suite!  It was just a standard room!  The hotel room was as big as my 900 sq foot apartment (I think).   And the best part?  The three flat screen TVs (including one over the sink in the bathroom). 

Palazzo Hotel Room  Palazzo Hotel Room

But the reason I write this little blog of mine is to talk about the food.  Ahh yes, the food.  I have been wanting to go to Lotus of Siam since I first went to Vegas a few months ago.  I didn’t make it this trip either.  Damn!  I will go to the supposedly best Thai place in the country!  Next time!

I did however, end up meeting up with an old friend who randomly happened to be in Vegas at the same time.  So when I was rattling off a bunch of places, she picked Daniel Boulud Brasserie at the Wynn.

Excellent, I was excited.  I love Boulud’s personality on his MOJO show and his food always seems to be beautiful and tasty (or so I imagined).

While his Vegas restaurant may have won 1 Michelin star, I think they’re going to get it pulled from them.  This was a dismal experience.  Daniel, if you’re out there, you need to come and fix this place.

The menu had a lot of promising offerings.

To start the meal, I ordered the heirloom tomato salad with prosciutto.  I just noticed the salad isn’t on their menu so it must be an update.  The heirlooms were OK, but the prosciutto didn’t taste like prosciutto at all.  They put a very small portion in between two pieces of toast with a thick green sauce (pesto perhaps?).  Therefore, you didn’t taste prosciutto.  My friend kept saying it tasted like liverwurst on toast.  I’ll have to take her word for it because I’ve never had liverwurst on toast.

I also ordered the mussels and frites.  I love M&F.  In my bowl, there were a couple of mussels that were so gritty and full of sand, it was disgusting.  One is allowed, but multiple?  Absolutely not.  In addition, the mussels had absolutely no flavor.  They put chunks of sausage in there, but they were too dry.  Since the broth lacked flavor, dipping bread into the sauce was not possible.  It was like dipping bread into water.  It was completely uninspired.  The frites weren’t very crispy so I wasn’t a fan.

My friend ordered the Trio of Kurobuta Pork which was a pork chop wrapped in pork belly and had one more pork item.  It was a lot of pig.  Despite the pork belly, the pork chop was a little dry.

If you go to Brasserie, don’t say I didn’t warn you.  I was so hoping to say that I loved it, but it was quite disappointing.  Maybe all the good chefs were on vacation the day I went? 

Bummer.

One more thing, while you’re there, you can check out the Lake of Dreams show.  It was interesting — there’s a video that’s projected onto a waterfall rock wall screen.  There are props all over the outside area that light up and are a part of the show.  The music gets loud and various photos appear.  One that had just a person’s head (kinda like Max Head Room) to the track One Second: Oh Yeah.

