I know you’re supposed to use kaffir lime leaves, but I couldn’t find any.  So I substituted lime juice.  BTW, this is an adaptation from a recipe I found in a book.

  • 1 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 2 TBSP red curry paste
  • 2 kaffir lime leaves (1 TBSP lime juice)
  • 1 lb boneless pork sliced thinly
  • 2 1/2 TBSP chicken stock or water
  • .5 lb of green beans, cleaned and cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 TBSP sugar
  • 1 1/2 TBSP fish sauce

Cut the pork into very thin layers.  I used the filet knife again.  To help with the slicing, put the pork into the freezer for 30-1 hour until it’s firm, but not frozen solid. 

Stir Fry Pork with Red Curry Paste

Heat the wok and put in the vegetable oil, red curry paste, and lime leaves.  Keep stirring and don’t let it burn! 

Stir Fry Pork with Red Curry Paste

Add the pork and chicken stock until almost cooked.  Then add the green beans, sugar, and fish sauce.  Keep stirring and cooking until the beans are softer (which is about 5-10 minutes).  The green beans should still be crunchy. 

Stir Fry Pork with Red Curry Paste

You can serve it plain or with rice. 

To be honest, I didn’t love this recipe.  I thought it was good, but it didn’t knock my socks off like the Asian Pepper Beef.  Maybe it was the lack of heat and the absense of the kaffir lime leaves?

