When I went to the grocery store last weekend, I happen to be in the spice aisle and noticed they sold a guacamole spice packet.  There’s no need!  Here’s a very simple and authentic guacamole recipe. 

Now when I say authentic, I had invited a couple of friends over for fajitas and beer.  I happened to make this recipe and one of my friends who was born and raised in Mexico, said it’s the closest thing she’s had that tastes like her mom’s recipe.  Wow.

  • 2 jalapenos
  • 3-4 garlic cloves
  • 2 tsp lime juice
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1 super firm medium tomato (or 1 seeded tomato)
  • 2 avocados
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp Kosher salt

Put the first 4 ingredients in a blender until chopped.  Then add the tomato and avocado. 

To get the good stuff out of a avocado, cut in half.  Then take a spoon and scoop.  To move the pit, carefully take your knife and hit the pit.  It’ll get stuck and then turn slightly.  Now you have the pit stuck to your knife.  Keep the pit — it’s part of the trick to preventing guacamole turning brown! 

Now chop the tomato and avocado with the other ingredients.  I like to leave some chunks so I don’t put them in the blender for long.  Taste it to see how much salt to add, but be careful to not add too much! 

Serve, but if you find you have leftovers, make sure to put into a plastic container.  Put the pit in the middle and cover the guacamole (so there’s no air remaining) with plastic wrap.  It’ll stay good in the fridge for 2-3 days. 

Homemade Guacamole  Homemade Guacamole  Homemade Guacamole

Seriously, I think you’ll love this guacamole.  And yes, I forgot to buy a red onion at the store so I had to settle for the yellow onion.  While it works, red onion is definitely better.

