While I’d love to say that I made the Spanglish sandwich that was created by culinary God Thomas Keller (The French Laundry), there was no way I could knowingly justify 1,115 calories and 78 grams of fat. 

So I decided to make a lower-in-fat version and if I may say so myself, I think it turned out pretty delicious! 

Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 pieces of 9-grain whole wheat bread (0.5 grams of fat/slice)
  • 3 slices of turkey bacon (3 grams of fat/slice)
  • 1 slice of provolone cheese (6 grams of fat)
  • 1/4 cup of spinach (I had a lot of fresh spinach in my fridge, but you can use butter lettuce)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (or 1 tsp of butter)
  • 2 slices of tomato

Toast the bread.  While it’s toasting, fry the turkey bacon.  I used my cast iron grill and didn’t put any extra oil or butter.  Once it’s done, put on a paper towel to absorb the grease. 

Side note: I usually fry all the turkey bacon so then I don’t have bring out the cast iron every time.  Also, while I know there’s fat free turkey bacon, I don’t think it tastes very good.  This one is the one I think tastes the best.

Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich  Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich

Heat a toaster oven to broil (or your oven) and place the toasted bread inside with one side with the slice of cheese and the other with the fresh spinach (so it wilts a bit).  If you use the butter lettuce, don’t put it on and then put the bread in the oven!  Put the lettuce on when you put the tomato on. 

Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich 

Once it’s melted (about 5-7 minutes), take it out and put on a plate.  On the slice with the spinach, put the tomato (or if you use the butter lettuce, put that on now) and 2 slices of bacon. 

Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich

In a non-stick skillet, put the oil or the butter on medium.  Once the skillet is hot, put the egg.  Watch the egg until the whites solidify, then flip it. Don’t let the egg cook too long because the last thing you want is a hard egg yolk!  I’d say let the egg cook for about 2-4 minutes. 

Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich

Then take your spatula and move the egg on top of the cheese.  Then cut the sandwich in two.  If you did this right, the egg yolk will gush. 

Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich  Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich  Lower in fat Spanglish Sandwich

My variation has about 15 grams of fat (a few more with the egg and olive oil).  I think it was awesome and I will absolutely make this a million times again!

