Loyal readers to the blog know that I went through a phase this summer where I used my wok for almost all my cooking.   If I may say so myself, the meals were really good and they were pretty easy to make.  I think there’s a misconception that Asian cooking is hard.  What makes it more a “challenge” is that there’s a bit of prep required (and sometimes the ingredients are tougher to find), but once you slice and dice, the cooking time is quick.

All of this is to tell you that I’m back to using my wok so expect to see more recipes.  Here’s my recipe for Singapore Noodles.  This makes about 3-4 servings. 

  • 4 oz of rice vermicelli
  • peanut oil
  • 15-20 peeled raw shrimp, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of Chinese BBQ shredded pork (I didn’t have any so I left it out)
  • 2 TBSP curry
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 container of shiitake mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 3/4 cup of green beans, sliced the longway in half (you’ll see I just cut them in half which is fine, but it’s not as pretty)
  • 1 TBSP soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp dried chili pepper, chopped

Put the dried vermicelli in hot water and “cook” for 5-7 minutes.  Drain once the noodles very well and let dry on a towel.  

Heat the wok and put 1 tsp of oil.  Swirl the oil around so it covers the wok and then cook the shrimp.  Once the shrimp is cooked, remove and set aside. 

Homemade Singapore Noodles

Now put another 1 tsp of oil in the hot wok.  Add the garlic, mushrooms, and curry for 1-2 minutes.  You may need to add 1 TBSP of water so they don’t stick to the wok.  

Homemade Singapore Noodles

Now add the green beans, soy sauce, and chili peppers and keep stirring until softened. 

Homemade Singapore Noodles

Once everything is cooked, mix the noodles and the veggies and shrimp together.  Serve and enjoy!  BTW, I think this meal tastes even better after a few days.  The flavors were able to marinate together and made it so good.

Homemade Singapore Noodles  Homemade Singapore Noodles  Homemade Singapore Noodles

