While food TV is one of my favorite things, I don’t usually run out and make what I see.  But when I realized I had a potato in my cupboard, I decided to use Anne Burrell’s “Pommes Chef Anne.”  I do really like her show “Secrets of a Restaurant Chef” and would argue it’s one of the best food TV shows currently available on Food Network.

Her recipe was so incredibly simple to make and it tasted fantastic!  I am definitely going to make this again!

I used only one Russet potato since that’s all I had available.  Here’s the short version of the recipe.  It’s very thinly sliced potatoes laid around in a circle in a sautee pan with Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Parmesan cheese on every layer.  After every few layers, you push down to squeeze out any air. 

Pomme Chef Anne

Then put on medium heat until the bottom layer (which will be the top layer) is brown (about 5-10 minutes).  Now bake it at 425 for 20-25 minutes. 

Pomme Chef Anne

After this, make sure to drain the oil from the pan (CAREFUL — IT’S HOT!) and then flip over to bake again for 10-15 minutes. 

Pomme Chef Anne  Pomme Chef Anne

To serve for guests, I’d put another layer of Parmesan cheese on top and then cut into wedges.

