Brownies are my favorite, but I can’t eat the full fat ones…unless I want to pack on the poundage.  So I decided to make up my own low fat version. 

Preheat the oven to 350.  Now add the following into a mixing bowl:

  • 3/4 cup of flour
  • 2 TBSP butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce (or mango sauce!)
  • 1/2 cup of dark cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 2/3 cup-1 cup of sugar (depends on how sweet you like it)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 4 TBSP strong brewed coffee, cooled
  • 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup of chocolate chips (opt)
  • 1/4 cup of walnuts (opt, although I think it’s best with them)

Bake for 20-25 minutes

Low fat Dark Chocolate Brownies  Low fat Dark Chocolate Brownies  Low fat Dark Chocolate Brownies

The brownies are moist, chewy and really good.  They do stick to your fingers a bit (since there’s not a lot of fat), but seriously, way lower fat than the normal ones.  And if it means I can eat one without too much guilt, I’m in.

Here are the brownies with walnuts:

Low fat Dark Chocolate Brownie with Walnuts Dough  Low fat Dark Chocolate Brownie with Walnuts  Low fat Dark Chocolate Brownie with Walnuts

