To me, the holidays don’t start until you have a box of clementines in your fridge.  But if you’re also like me, after the 30th clementine, you’re getting over them.  So I was happy to find a recipe for clementine yogurt muffins from Stonyfield’s Web site.  I originally linked to the recipe, but realized the link wasn’t working so here’s the recipe:

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup Stonyfield Farm plain yogurt
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 large egg
1 tbs. grated clementine peel
1 cup diced clementine

Directions
In a large bowl, sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
In a medium bowl, stir together yogurt, melted butter, egg, grated clementine peel, and diced clementine. Pour clementine mixture into flour mixture and stir just until combined. Spoon the batter into a greased muffin tins, filling two-thirds full. Bake in 400°F. oven for 18 to 20 minutes, or until lightly browned. Cool for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to finish cooling. 

And I know I said I wouldn’t post until January 5th, but I didn’t think I should hold back on this recipe…especially since some of you may be like me with clementines.

Anyway, I followed as instructed…except I just threw everything into my bowl and mixed.  Also, I put in about 2 TBSP of zest and 4 chopped clementines (a little more than 1 cup).  I found I had a lot of dough, but put in equal amounts in all 12 tins.  Thankfully, it worked and the tins didn’t overflow. 

Clementine Yogurt Muffin Dough

Then I baked as directed.

Clementine Yogurt Muffins  Clementine Yogurt Muffins  Clementine Yogurt Muffins  Clementine Yogurt Muffins

Once they cooled, they were delicate and had a pleasant orange flavor.  I liked the small chunks of clementines and even better — I liked I used up the last of my clementines!  I thought it was a good recipe.

OK, back to my blog-cation…

