I watched it last week (or was it two weeks ago?) and have meant to blog about it, but I haven’t had a chance…until now.

I was catching up on HBO’s Big Love to remind myself about what happened last season, when I caught the trailer for a new documentary called Le Cirque: A Table in Heaven

Well, you know I was excited to watch it — and it didn’t disappoint (althought it is a little too long).  Without going over too much about the show, you watch Le Cirque founder Sirio Maccioni and his family re-open Le Cirque. 

First, the documentary gives you an overview of Maccioni and how he became a very well-known NY maitre d’.  You see the celebrities, political figures, and other famous people eating in his restaurant. 

Then you learn that the restaurant has to move due to a leasing issue.  There was an option between two locations and Maccionidecides to go with the Bloomberg Building on 58th between Lexington and 3rd. 

The documentary takes you through the building and development of the restaurant, menu, atmosphere, attire, etc. 

And then, Frank Bruni, the New York Times restaurant critic enters the picture. 

I won’t spoil the ending (in case you don’t know it already).  But suffice to say, it was entertaining.  I found myself at times irritated with all the characters (except Egidiana, his wife) and other times rooting for the Maccioni family.  I also found I was drooling at the pictures of the food.  And when the review by Bruni came out, well…

Overall, I definitely recommend catching this documentary if you love food and are interested in the restaurant business.  For those who have never been in the restaurant business, it is eye-opening.  For those who have been, you already know the story.  And if you are thinking of opening up a restaurant, this may change your mind. 

 Have you seen it?  What did you think of the show?

