Since I am a party of one, I always have a lot of leftover rotisserie  chicken.  I usually make sandwiches with them, but this time, I decided to make some white bean chicken chili.  You could also substitute turkey.

To use up some of my rotisserie chicken, I thought I’d make a super easy white bean chicken chili.

  • 1 cup of chicken broth
  • 1/2 jalapeno (or a full one if you like it hot!)
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1/2 of a green pepper (red, yellow, or orange works too)
  • 1/2-1 cup of water — DON’T ADD RIGHT AWAY
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 2-3 bay leaves
  • Remaining rotisserie chicken
  • 2 regular cans Northern white beans, drained and rinsed 

Put everything except the water, rotisserie chicken, and Northern white beans in a sauce pan (mine is 2.5 quart).  You’ll want to make sure there’s enough liquid so you don’t burn everything, but not too much so that there’s a danger of overflowing.  In mine, I put enough water so it’s about 1″ away from the top. 

Now put the pan on the stove medium/low heat for an hour.  The jalapeno simmering will make the water spicy so be careful and don’t use too much!

Finally, add the rotisserie chicken and Northern white beans.  Let this cook for another 15 minutes. 

White Bean Chicken Chili

Serve with cornbread (my personal favorite).  This makes about 5-6 servings.  It’s so good and healthy!

