I love my Cooking Light subscription.  I really enjoy the photos and the numerous healthier recipes.  In their Septembere 2008 issue, a woman from Anninston, AL submitted this recipe for her favorite low-fat chocolate coconut oatmeal cookies. 

Since I couln’t find it posted anywhere, I thought I’d share it with you here:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 6 TBSP sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Mix everything together in a bowl and bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes. 

When I was making it, I had to add another egg the dough would combine, but you may find you don’t need it.  I used a small cookie scoop and the cookies came out perfect! 

Lower in fat Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal Cookie Dough  Lower in fat Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal Cookies  Lower in fat Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal Cookies

They were absolutely delicious with a pleasant coconut and chocolate taste — a perfect combination!  You have to try these!

