Beer bread is always a favorite in the winter and a perfect addition to serve with chili or stew.  I wasn’t sure how the 4-ingredient beer bread recipe would turn out, but figured I might as well try it.

When there are only four ingredients, you have to use high quality stuff.  So I used a bottle of Magic Hat Jinx Ale.  I think it’s important to use a thick, heavy ale with this recipe.

I didn’t have any self-rising flour, but I did have a lot of bread flour.  If you want to make your own self-rising flour, someone recommended using 3 cups of all-purpose flour, 1.5 tsp of baking power, 1.5 tsp of salt.

Once I mixed everything together, I didn’t think the dough was super sticky.  But I sprayed my bread loaf pan and put it in the oven. 

4-Ingredient Beer Bread Dough 

The bread didn’t come out as high as I thought it would (maybe if I used self-rising flour it would have). 

4-Ingredient Beer Bread  4-Ingredient Beer Bread  4-Ingredient Beer Bread

But the flavor?  It was surprisingly sweet and really tasty.  It’d be great as a side with soups or used as sandwich bread.  I definitely recommend trying this one!

