In my fridge, I found I had a few ounces of cream cheese and decided to find some recipes to use it up.  While I like watching Martha Stewart’s TV show since EVERYTHING is perfect, I had never tried one of her recipes. 

Until now.  I thought her recipe for cream cheese walnut cookies sounded delicious.  While there are more directions than I usually care to follow, they were surprisingly simple. 

When you’re making these cookies, don’t forget to factor in extra time for the dough to go into the fridge/freezer.  Also, I used a small heaping 1/4 tsp of Kosher salt (even though it called for more).

Once I molded into the best circular logs as I possibly could (meaning when I grew tired of trying to make them perfect), I cut them using a knife and a sawing back-and-forth motion.  Otherwise, you “rough” up the dough. 

Martha Stewart Cream Cheese Walnut Cookie Dough  Martha Stewart Cream Cheese Walnut Cookie Dough  Martha Stewart Cream Cheese Walnut Cookies  Martha Stewart Cream Cheese Walnut Cookies

When I took them out of the oven and tried a bite, the cream cheese gave the cookies a bit of a bite and the walnuts a crunch.  The cookies are definitely rich and reminded me a bit of shortbread. 

Seriously, if you find yourself with a little time, you should try to make these.  I liked them.

